Posts Tagged ‘Awards’

167 Hospitals Recognized for Raising Quality of Care, inc. 23 TORCH Hospital Members

Tuesday, April 3rd, 2012

Texas Health Care Quality Improvement Awards honor hospitals for notable gains on key components of patient care and treatment

TMF Health Quality Institute announced today that 167 Texas hospitals (including 23 TORCH Hospital Members) had won a Texas Health Care Quality Improvement Award by achieving gains in key clinical areas designated as national health care priorities. The Award recognizes hospitals that undertake efforts to advance the quality of care in their facilities. Leaders from each hospital will meet in Austin on May 3 at Bass Concert Hall to receive their awards.

“As a nonprofit consulting company focused on promoting quality health and health care, TMF proudly recognizes these hospitals for promoting improvement activities and their senior management for promoting a quality culture,” said Tom Manley, CEO of TMF Health Quality Institute. “Quality improvement is a complex and demanding process, and we thank these hospitals for their commitment to improving the health of Texans and the efficiency of health care in our state.”

TMF Health Quality Institute, the Medicare Quality Improvement Organization for Texas, established the awards program in partnership with the Texas Hospital Association, Texas Medical Association, Texas Organization of Rural & Community Hospitals and Texas Osteopathic Medical Association.

Hospitals self-nominate for participation in the non-competitive program and agree to focus on making improvements in clinical areas that include acute myocardial infarction or AMI (heart attack), heart failure, pneumonia and surgical care. Improvement in these areas has been designated a priority for U.S. health
care by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and The Joint Commission, an independent, non-profit, standards-setting and accrediting body in health care.

Of 214 Texas hospitals participating in the awards program, two met the criteria of the highest award, the Gold Award, and another 129 earned the Silver Award. Thirty-six hospitals’ improvement qualified them for the Bronze Award. A list of the TORCH-honored hospitals is provided below. For a full list, please visit the TMF Health Quality Institute awards web site.

For more information on the awards, see the TMF Health Quality Institute awards web site.

Childress Regional Medical Center, Childress
Connally Memorial Medical Center, Floresville
Graham Regional Medical Center, Graham
Hill Country Memorial Hospital, Fredericksburg
Matagorda Regional Medical Center, Bay City
Moore County Hospital, Dumas
Mother Frances Hospital Jacksonville, Jacksonville
Reagan Memorial Hospital, Big Lake
Rolling Plains Memorial Hospital, Sweetwater
Scott & White Hospital – Brenham, Brenham
Scott & White Hospital – Llano, Llano
Seton Edgar B. Davis Hospital, Luling
Seton Highland Lakes Hospital, Burnet
Wise Regional Health System, Decatur

Bowie Memorial Hospital, Bowie
Columbus Community Hospital, Columbus
East Texas Medical Center Jacksonville, Jacksonville
Hamilton General Hospital, Hamilton
Lavaca Medical Center, Hallettsville
Madison St. Joseph Health Center, Madisonville
North Texas Medical Center, Gainesville
Smithville Regional Hospital, Smithville
Yoakum Community Hospital, Yoakum

TORCH recognizes 2011 HITCON Awards recipients

Monday, November 21st, 2011

Earlier this month, TORCH and the TORCH Foundation hosted the 2011 Rural Hospital Information Technology Conference and Trade Show (HITCON) in San Antonio, Texas.  It was a great conference and we had yet another opportunity to talk with our members, friends, and industry partners.

For those who were not in attendance, please join us in congratulating the recipients of the 2011 HITCON Awards, recognizing outstanding HIT achievements in Texas rural hospitals. This year’s recipients are:

Rural Hospital IT Award of Excellence

Ballinger Memorial Hospital

Ballinger, Texas

Faith Community Hospital

Jacksboro, Texas

Rural Health IT Leadership Award

B.C. Lee, IT/PACS Manager

Limestone Medical Center

Chad Reinert, IT Director

Hamilton Healthcare System

Rural Hospital Outstanding HIT Partnership Award

Crane/Rankin/Big Lake Consortium